Director

Photo of Brent Peyton.

Dr. Brent Peyton 

Director, TBI
Professor
Chemical & Biological Engineering

bpeyton@montana.edu
406.994.7419

Faculty

Photo of Brian Bothner.
Professor & Mass Spec Director
Chemistry & Biochemistry 

bbothner@montana.edu
406.994.5270

Photo of Ross Carlson.
Assistant Professor 
Chemical & Biological Engineering

rossc@montana.edu
406.994.3631

Photo of Connie Chang.

Assistant Professor

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Photo of Valerie Copie.
Professor & NMR Scientific Director 
Chemistry & Biochemistry 

vcopie@montana.edu
406.994.7244

Photo of Matthew Fields.
Professor, Microbiology; Director, Center for Biofilm Engineering
Photo of Robin Gerlach.

Professor 
Chemical & Biological Engineering

robin_g@montana.edu

406.994.3820

Photo of Roland Hatzenpichler.

Assistant Professor

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Photo of Bill Inskeep.
Professor 
Land Resources & Environmental Sciences 
binskeep@montana.edu
406. 994.5077 
Photo of Matt Lavin.
Professor
Plant Sciences
mlavin@montana.edu
406.994.2032
Photo of Martin Lawrence.
Professor 
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Photo of David Lageson.
Professor
Land Resources & Environmental Sciences
Photo of Ellen Lauchnor.

Assistant Professor

Civil Engineering

Photo of David Ward.
Professor 
Microbial Ecology
umbdw@montana.edu
406.994.3401
Photo of Mark Young.
Professor 
Plant Sciences & Plant Pathology  
myoung@montana.edu
406.994.5158 
Photo of James Wilking.

Assistant Professor

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Photo of Cathy Zabinski.
Professor
Land Resources & Environmental Sciences
cathyz@montana.edu
406.994.4277

Research Affiliates

apel

Dr. William A. Apel

Idaho National Lab
Research Staff
Collaborator: Brent Peyton
bryant

Dr. Donald A. Bryant 

Penn State University
Ernest C. Pollard Professor of Biotechnology, 
Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology Research
Collaborator: Dave Ward

dab14@psu.edu
814.865.1992

fouke
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Professor in Geology, Microbiology, 
& the Institute for Genomic Biology Research 
Collaborator: Bill Inskeep

fouke@illinois.edu
217.244.5431

van

Dr. John Van der Oost

Wageningen University, the Netherlands
Professor, Laboratory of MicrobiologyResearch 
Collaborator: Mark Young

john.vanderoost@wur.nl
+31-317.483108